Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation Logo

All news

SVSEF alpine racers punch tickets to championship events

February 28, 2013

On any given day, the Sun Valley Ski Education is supremely proud of its student/athletes, recognizing the hard work and dedication it takes to balance academics and athletics. At this time, the SVSEF would also like to recognize its alpine skiers who have been named to Junior Olympic and National Championship teams. 


The Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation is enjoying the distinction of having almost 25 percent of the quota for the Far West team which will compete at the 2013 USSA Alpine U-18 National Championships at Mammoth Mountain, California, March 4-12. Of 35 racers (20 men/15 women), eight are from the SVSEF, including Jordan Fitzgerald (competing on Great Britain quota), Kyla Miller, Linnea Baysinger, Mackenzie Bachmeier, KJ Savaria, Kipling Weisel, Parker Scott and Will Harder. The field will consist of the top U-18 racers in the nation. 


Older SVSEF alpine racers were also named to the Intermountain Team which will compete at the Western Region Junior Championships, March 5-10, at Mission Ridge, Washington. 11 out of 45 skiers are from the SVSEF, including Jenna Jansky, Ali Gunesch, Taylor Gilliam, Amanda Stelling, Tanner Josey, Ben Kanellitsas, Garrett Lodge, Logan Shipley, Payton Anderson, Sofi Leroux and Marc Leroux (competing on Canadian quota). 


"It is a real testament and tribute to the coaching staff led by Ruben Macaya, the development process and the effort and dedication of the athletes,” SVSEF Executive Director Don Wiseman said. “It shows that our development process is solid and will support the goals of the athletes whatever they may be.”


Speaking of the development process, several SVSEF U-12 and U-10 will gain valuable experience at the Intermountain Division Championships, March 15-17 at Park City, Utah. The IMD Championships pit the best finishers in North and South Series races against each other in slalom and giant slalom events.


SVSEF had five out of 10 racers named to the team in the girls’ U-10 age division, including Marit Kaiser, Anwhei Kirk, Jessica Blackburn, Hannah Ferris and Lily Dean. Josh Blackburn made the cut in the boys’ U-10 class. In the U-12 division, SVSEF claimed eight out of 30 slots in the girls’ division with Madison Ferris, Lily Fitzgerald, Allison Rathfon, Sage Curtis, Laine Allison, Anja Jensen, Anja Schweiger, Emma MacGuffie, and nine out of 30 in the boys’, including Wyatt Minor, Bennett Snyder, Buey Grossman, Charlie Snyder, Shaw Dean, William Everitt, Fletcher Stumph, Ridley Lindstrom, and Alexander Daves.


Junior Olympic boards will come out next week for U-16 and U-14 racers. Sun Valley is the venue for the U-14 Tri-Divisional Championships, March 21-14, 2013.